God Of War Ragnarok Boss Order (Story, Favors, & Misc Bosses)

Want to know the order to beat the bosses in GoW Ragnarok? Check out our guide to find out the God of War Ragnarok boss order.

Want to know the full God of War Ragnarok Boss order? Unlike its predecessor, GoW Ragnarok features a longer playthrough with more challenging bosses and Norse Gods. As Kratos and Atreus fight against powerful Gods like Thor, Odin, or Heimdall, you would like an order to fight them. If you want to ignore the Favor sidequests and get on with them later, you can complete the game earlier by defeating the story bosses. So, check out the guide below to find out the full order of the bosses.

Disclaimer: There are some spoilers that reveal the names of bosses, quests, and realms. If you want to avoid these spoilers, now is the best chance to head back & check back later.

Boss Order in God of War Ragnarok

god of war ragnarok boss order

While there are several bosses you will face during the Path campaign, there are only 16 major bosses in God of War Ragnarok. To be honest with the Nordic myths, most of these bosses are Norse Gods which are pretty overpowered. So, check out our combat tips for beginners to make the journey easier.

Here are all the main Story bosses along with the quest and order in which they appear:

  • Bjorn
    • Chapter/Mission: Surviving Fimbulwinter
  • Thor
    • Chapter/Mission: Surviving Fimbulwinter
  • The Huntress
    • Chapter/Mission: Surviving Fimbulwinter
  • Dreki
    • Chapter/Mission: The Quest for Tyr
  • Alva
    • Chapter/Mission: Groa’s Secret
  • Gryla
    • Chapter/Mission: The Lost Sanctuary
  • Vanadis
    • Chapter/Mission: The Reckoning
  • Forest Ancient
    • Chapter/Mission: The Reckoning
  • Fiske
    • Chapter/Mission: The Reckoning
  • Nidhogg
    • Chapter/Mission: The Reckoning
  • Frost Phantom
    • Chapter/Mission: Reunion
  • Garm
    • Chapter/Mission:
  • Double Dreki
    • Chapter/Mission: Creatures of Prophecy
  • Heimdall & Gulltoppr
    • Chapter/Mission: Creatures of Prophecy
  • Frost Ancient
    • Chapter/Mission: Unlocking the Mask
  • Flame Phantom
    • Chapter/Mission: The Summoning
  • Double Soul Eater
    • Chapter/Mission: The Summoning
  • Hrist and Mist
    • Chapter/Mission: The Summoning
  • Thor (#2 Boss Fight)
    • Chapter/Mission: The Realms at War
  • Odin
    • Chapter/Mission: The Realms at War

All Favor Bosses

Aside from the above Story bosses, you can also take on more Favor bosses by exploring the Nine Realms. In total, there are 47 Favors or sidequests you can complete in God of War Ragnarok. You can complete the game to take on these bosses with OP upgraded gear and higher level. Or you can defeat these bosses while Spartan Raging throughout the playthrough. As these are side quests that can be completed anytime, there is no fixed order to beat their bosses.

So, here are all the Favor bosses and their realms where you will encounter them:

  • Olaf Nautson (Midgard)
  • King Hrolf Kraki (Midgard)
  • Fraekni The Zealous (Midgard)
  • Ormstunga (Svartalfheim)
  • Hardrefill The Callous (Svartalfheim)
  • Bodvar the Fierce & Starolfr the Troublesome (Svartalfheim)
  • Beigadr the Feared (Svartalfheim)
  • Hvitserkr The Bold (Vanaheim)
  • Haklangr the Bearded (Vanaheim)
  • The Crimson Dread (Vanaheim)
  • Flame Phantom (Vanaheim)
  • Crag Jaw (Vanaheim)
  • Soul Eater (#2 Boss Fight)
  • Two Drekis (Vanaheim) (#2 Boss Fight)
  • The Corpse Eater (Vanaheim)
  • Slag Horn (Vanaheim)
  • Dreki (Vanaheim)
  • The Ash Tyrant (Vanaheim)
  • Vali The Oath Guard (Vanaheim)
  • Jorgen The Oath Guard (Vanaheim)
  • The Maven (Alfheim)
  • Gravel Belly (Alfheim)
  • Stinnr and Strekr (Alfheim)
  • Hjalti The Stolid (Alfheim)
  • Svipdagr The Cold and Sisters Of Illska (Alfheim)
  • The Raven Keeper and The Pale One (Niflheim)
  • Skjorthendi The Unerring (Niflheim)
  • Gna (Muspelheim)
  • The Hateful (Svartalfheim, Alfheim, Vanaheim, Midgard, Applcore, The Watchtower)

GoW Ragnarok Misc Bosses

Furthermore, here are the Miscalleoneous bosses that you can encounter while exploring the Nine Realms:

  • Frost Phantom
  • Visi Haglkorn
  • Blatonn
  • Egil the Oath Guard
  • Miklimunnr
  • The Everlasting

That’s everything covered about the God of War Ragnarok Boss order. If you liked this guide, check out our guides on the five most difficult boss fights, how to get Gale Flames, how to unlock Enchantments, and more GoW Ragnarok Guides in our dedicated section right here on Gamer Tweak.