Final Fantasy 16 Arete Stone Explained

Sharpen your combat skills by using the Arete Stone in Final Fantasy 16. Here's everything you must know about the modes it features.

The Arete Stone allows players to practice combat and perfect their skills in Final Fantasy 16. It is found inside Cid’s Hideaway and appears as a monolith with glowy blue light. Consider it as training area with multiple modes where you can enter to hone different aspects of fighting in this game. Each space or mode in Arete Stone gets unlocked as you progress through the game. For those who are new to this game, figuring out stuff about this element can get tricky. That said, here’s everything you should know about the Arete Stone in FF16.

All Arete Stone Modes in Final Fantasy 16 (FF16)

Arete Stone in Final Fantasy 16 (FF16)

Here’s what you should know about all the Arete Stone modes in FF16.

Hall of Virtue

Hall of Virtue is an ideal training area where you can test out your combos, skills, and abilities. Moreover, you can also practice the dodging and power of each Eikon form here. Following are the options that you can select to practice your combat skills.

  • Input Display
  • Invincibility
  • Unlimited Break
  • Torgal
  • Sic Timing
  • Recast Timers
  • Enemy Aggro
  • Select Target
  • Action Log
  • Regen
  • Limit Break Regen
  • Auto Torgal
  • Burst Timing
  • Battle Performance Auto Reset
  • Enemy Invincibility

Apart from this, you can also practice against different types of enemies. This makes it the best way of finding the winning combinations against each enemy. Here’s the list of the enemies available in Final Fantasy 16 Arete Stone’s Hall of Virtue.

  • Random
  • Goblin Mugger (Small/Melee)
  • Goblin Weaver (Small/Ranged)
  • Gigas (Medium/Melee)
  • Wolf (Small/Melee)
  • Hornet (Small/Melee)
  • Aegis (Medium/Ranged)
  • Royal Tognvaldr (Medium/Ranged)
  • Elemental (Medium/Ranged)
  • Minotaur (Medium/Melee)

Arcade Mode

Arete Stone in Final Fantasy 16 (FF16)

In this Arete Stone feature, you can battle in previously completed stages. And while doing so, your progress will be converted into scores and compared against other players. So it’s all about getting that precious S rank in a limited time to reach the top of the leaderboard.

Stage Replay

As the name suggests, you can use this Arete Stone feature to relive the events of previous stages. More precisely, here you can battle bosses and execute new moves that you didn’t have back then. Also, you can collect XPs, Ability Points, and any missed item from that stage.

Ultimaniac Mode

The Ultimaniac Mode is an Arete Stone feature that is unlocked with New Game Plus in FF16. It is just a more difficult and challenging version of the Arcade Mode. All the enemies and other obstructions in Ultimaniac mode are crafted for players who love difficult challenges.

Chronolith Trials

Chronolith Trials is another Arete Stone feature that you can use in NG+. Wherein, you will be squaring off against incoming enemies for a limited time. The final wave in this mode puts forward a punishing boss fight. Also, keep in mind that you must be on the ‘Final Fantasy’ difficulty setting to participate in Chronolith’s Trial.

Every mode in Final Fantasy 16’s Arete Stone gives you a great opportunity to strengthen yourself for upcoming battles. And now that you know everything about them, ensure to make the most out of it. Besides that, you can check out our other guide on the Ability System, in case you have some doubts about it. For more such informative content, make sure to take a look at our Final Fantasy XVI Guides right here on Gamer Tweak.