FF16 Ability System: How To Get & Use Its Points

Want to kill your enemies in better or flashier ways? FFXVI's Ability system will help you out with it.

One of the most crucial aspects of any Action RPG game is its skill tree. And in order to use it in Final Fantasy 16, you need to get Ability Points first. While experience helps you level up in this game. Ability points allow you to unlock new skills. At a single glance, it may appear slightly daunting but is quite easy to understand. So here is a quick explanation of how it works.

How to Get Ability Points in FF16

Final Fantasy 16 Get and Use Ability Points

You get Ability Points after you defeat enemies in this game. Each time you fight and kill your enemies, after the fight is over you get a popup on the right side of the screen that shows your battle Spoils. The red icon represents the Experience, the blue icon shows the Ability points you earned, and the yellow icon represents Gil.

FF16 Get Ability Points

The stronger the enemy, the more Exp and Ability points you will earn. So the best way to get them is mainly by completing quests. You can also do side quests to encounter more enemies to fight.

How to Use Ability Points in Final Fantasy 16

FF16 Use Ability Points

You use these points in the Abilities menu.

  1. Pause the game by pressing the menu button on your Controller.
  2. Press L2 or R2 to go to the Abilities tab.
  3. You will see how many Ability Points you have on the left side of the screen.
  4. And the skill tree will be shown at the center.
  5. Use the points to either learn new skills or master the ones you already know.

Learning new skills is easier because it costs fewer points as compared to mastering them. Make sure you check the ability details of the skill you are about to invest your points on.

The sword icon shows the damage-dealing capabilities of your ability, while the stars icon represents their capability to break your target’s will.

At the start of the game, there are only certain abilities that you can learn and your skill tree is fairly limited. But this changes and expands as you meet more Eikons in the game.

That is everything you should ability system in FF16. Since you are interested in this game you should also check our guides on how to parry, fast travel, and the limit break ability. And for the other topics not mentioned here check out our Final Fantasy 16 section.