World Of Warcraft (WoW) Expansion Packs List

Find out about the list of eight World Of Warcraft (WoW) Expansion Packs that have been launched since the game's initial launch in 2004.

There are 9 Expansion Packs for World Of Warcraft and if you’re looking for all the WoW games in order, this list will help you out. These Expansion Packs help keep the game fresh ever since its initial release in 2004 with new content, features, add-ons, new classes/races and more.

World Of Warcraft Expansion Packs List

World Of Warcraft (WoW) Expansion Packs List

Burning Crusade (2007)

This was the first expansion pack that came out 3 years after the initial release of the game. It brought along various new and innovative gameplay elements. All this also included an even wider universe with 2 new races being added in the form of the Blood Elves and Draenei.

Wrath Of The Lich King Expansion Pack (2008)

The second expansion pack followed up the first pack pretty quickly. This brought about an increase in the level cap, with the new level being 80. The Death Knights were also introduced as the first-ever Hero Class in the game. There was also a new boss in the form of the Lich King in the game.

Cataclysm (2010)

With the Cataclysm Expansion Pack, the level cap increases from level 80 to 85. There were also new storylines that were added to the game along with 3500 new quests. The game also underwent a restructuring in the form of graphics to bring it up to date.

Mists Of Pandaria Expansion Pack (2012)

With the Mists Of Pandaria Expansion Pack, there was a new class in the form of the Monk and the Pandaren Race that were added. This expansion pack also saw the introduction of various challenge modes in the game with set rewards for completion. A Pet Battle System was also introduced with the level cap increasing by 5 again to reach 90.

Warlords Of Draenor (2014)

This Expansion pack again saw the increase of the Level Cap, with the new highest available level being 100. It also saw a revamp in the graphics of the game with various facial expressions and animations being redone. Now, there were even customizable garrisons that players could create themselves.

Legion Expansion Pack (2016)

As has been the trend with WoW Expansion packs, Legion also saw the Level Cap increase. This pack saw an influx of various patches throughout its life to make it stable and to negate cheating. There was also the addition of the Demon Hunters class which allowed players to start out directly from Level 98.

Battle For Azeroth Expansion Pack (2018)

This game also sees the Level Cap increase from 110 to 120. Now, with this Expansion Pack, you could also have allied races that you could interact with. One of the biggest changes came in the form of the recommended system requirements for the game.

Shadowlands Expansion Pack (2020)

Probably the most influential Expansion Pack ever. With Shadowlands the Level Cap will go down to the original 60. There are some new zones and dungeons as well. However, the game massively focuses on the Covenant System now.

Dragonflight (2022)

Dragonflight was released on November 28, 2022 and is the 9th expansion pack for this game. As the name suggests, it’s set in The Dragon Isles. The level goes back up to 70 with this expansion and also features an updated UI, profession system, talent tree systems, new playable race (The Dracthyr), a new class (The Evoker), and a feature of Dragonriding where players can customize their own Dragon to fly on.

This is everything you need to know about the complete World Of Warcraft Expansion Packs List. Now that you are here, make sure you know how to install and use ElvUI in WoW that will help you get a better UI that is also customizable.

You might also like