Fortnite Ranked Play Explained – How To Rank Up

Fortnite’s Ranked Mode is not everyone’s cup of tea. Read on here to learn everything there is to know about it.

One thing that Fortnite lacked over the years has now been solved after the introduction of Ranked Mode. You can now engage in a competitive mode and earn ranks on the basis of how well you perform. While advancing through the ranks, you will start from Bronze and can go all the way up to Unreal, the highest achievable rank. However, there are some ground rules set up that you must know beforehand.

Our guide here aims to explain everything there is to know about Fortnite Ranked Play. That covers everything including all Ranks, how the Ranking System works, and how to rank up. So if you are eager to know about it all, this is the right place to get started.

Here’s How Fortnite Ranked Play Works

How Fortnite Ranked Play Works
Image Source: EfiRun (YouTube)

First of all, players can switch between unranked and ranked matches while selecting a match. Both Battle Royale and Zero Build modes support a Ranked Play. If you are playing a Battle Royale, then Ranked Play can be enabled in Solo, Duo, Trio and Squad matches. And for Zero Build, only a Solo, Duo, Squad matches supports a Ranked Play.

For someone who is new to Fortnite, they will have to face 500 opponents before unlocking the Ranked Play. Veterans will have it unlocked and must play one Ranked match to reveal their initial Rank in Fortnite. Your past performance will also be taken into consideration before assigning you a Rank.

It should be noted that while playing a Solo Ranked Match, you will enter matchmaking with an opponent of a similar Rank. And if you are playing a Duo or Squad match, then your party will have a “Party Rank.” Your party rank is always the rank of the highest-ranked player in your party, so you will enter matchmaking with opponents similar to his rank.

Note: You will have separate Ranks for Zero Build and Battle Royale matches in Fortnite.

Also, it is important that you know about the following changes that are made in Fortnite Ranked Play:

  • Material caps are reduced to 500, which was earlier 999.
  • The Harvesting rate for materials will slightly observe a boost.
  • After being eliminated, a player will drop 50 of each item.

All Ranks in Fortnite

Currently, Fortnite has a total of 8 achievable Ranks and here are they:

  • Bronze (I, II, III)
  • Silver (I, II, III)
  • Gold (I, II, III)
  • Platinum (I, II, III)
  • Diamond (I, II, III)
  • Elite
  • Champion
  • Unreal

From Bronze to Diamond, each rank will have 3 sub-ranks. After that, when you reach Elite and further, there won’t be any sub-ranks. While your journey to Diamond will be comparatively easy, a real challenge awaits you at the Elite Rank.

How to Rank Up in Fortnite

Once you have revealed your initial Rank after playing 1 placement match, your performance thereon will decide if you rank up or down.

How to Rank Up in Fortnite
Image Source: u/Phoenixx2246 on Reddit

While playing a solo match, your total eliminations and at what position you finished the match will decide your progress. But in duo or squad matches, your team will be considered as a single unit. So your team’s overall kills and final position after a match will decide how much you rank up.

It goes without saying that you will de-rank after losing a match. However, once you reach the Unreal Rank and enter the Global Leaderboard, you won’t de-rank. But if you make progress, then you will gain points and climb to the top of the leaderboard.

The adventure won’t stop as you will have to grind every season. At the end of each season, you will lose some rank. This is to ensure that everyone gets a fair opportunity to reach the top of the mountain.

Read Next | Why Can’t I Play Fortnite Ranked?

Well, that was it about the Fortnite Ranked Play. Now that you know about it, why not play a match with your squad right away? If you need any help, then you will get it in our dedicated section for Fortnite Guides.