Valorant Ranking System Explained

Here is a guide that explains the Competitive Ranks in Valorant.

Valorant can be a fun game with friends or a competitive one depending on who you ask. For a lot of players, Competitive is their calling and so in this guide, I will explain all of the Competitive Ranks in Valorant and how the Valorant Ranking system works.

Valorant Ranking System Explained


In Valorant, the Competitive Ranks are divided into 8 Ranks and 3 Sub Ranks in each of them with exceptions. The Ranks go from Iron, Bronze, Silver, Gold, Platinum, Diamond, Immortal, and Radiant. The Ranks go from Newbie to Pro from Iron to Radiant in the exact order as mentioned before. When you first start up Valorant as a new player you will have to play a few unranked games to unlock Competitive Mode. Once you do unlock Competitive Mode it will take one game in Competitive to get your Rank.

For every game you win, you will gain RR, Rank Rating, and losing a game you will lose it. RR is based on the win and loss in a game and also your performance in that game. Individual performance is a factor till Diamond. Immortal and Radiant RR gain/loss is not affected by it. For a Win you will gain from 10RR to 50RR, for a Draw, you will get from 0RR to 20RR, and for a Loss, you will lose 10 RR to 30RR. It takes 100RR to go to the next rank.

There is something known as MMR (Match Making Rating). This is a ranking score that determines your skill. This is different from your Rank and RR. The game tries to match your Rank to your MMR score. So if you are above your MMR score then you will lose more RR for a Loss and earn less RR on a Win. Also, you will earn more RR for a Win and lose less RR for a Loss.

Valorant Ranks

  • Iron:
    Iron is the lowest Rank in Valorant. Under Iron, there are the ranks of Iron 1, Iron 2, and Iron 3. Most players will start in Iron. Players new to FPS are usually here as they don’t understand the concepts of the game that well.
  • Bronze:
    Bronze is just above the Iron Rank. Under Bronze, there are the ranks of Bronze 1, Bronze 2, and Bronze 3. This is the Rank where people start to get an understanding of the game but are similar in skill to Iron players. If you want to imp[rove and rank up from Bronze I would suggest you check our guide Here.
  • Silver:
    Silver is the Rank where players start to hone their skills and improve at a faster pace. Under Silver, there are the ranks of Silver 1, Silver 2, and Silver 3. The Ranks of Iron, Bronze, and Silver are very similar in skill but this isn’t true for every player.
  • Gold:
    Gold is considered the Average Rank. This is the Rank where the players have decent skills and Game Sense. Under Gold, there are the ranks of Gold 1, Gold 2, and Gold 3.
  • Platinum:
    Platinum is where things get serious. Here everyone has good skills so outplays and team coordination becomes essential. Under Platinum, there are the ranks of Platinum 1, Platinum 2, and Platinum 3.
  • Diamond:
    Diamond is where you can consider playing Pro. It may seem that Platinum and Diamond are similar but the players here have proved that they have what it takes to be in Diamond. Under Diamond, there are the ranks of Diamond 1, Diamond 2, and Diamond 3.
  • Immortal:
    Immortal Rank is the one before Radiant. This is where the top 1% of players in a region are. This is a Rank of The Elites. Under Immortal there are the ranks of Immortal 1, Immortal 2, and Immortal 3. As of Update 3.05, the three subranks of Immortal had returned. This was done due to weird matchmaking where Radiants would match up with Diamond players.
  • Radiant:
    Finally, we have reached the Topmost Rank in Valorant. They are the Crème De La Crème in Valorant. Radiants are the top 500 players in each region. To keep your rank you have to keep playing Competitive.

This was all about how the Valorant Ranking System works. You can also check out our guides on Fun Crosshairs and Fixing VAN 1067.