fbpx
Home > Minecraft > How To Use Color & Format Codes In Minecraft

Minecraft Color & Format Codes (2022)

Learn how to use the Color & Format Codes in Minecraft from this guide.

Minecraft is an amazing Sandbox game that brings the 2D Pixels aesthetic to a 3D game. Many players have made amazing stuff like Monumental Builds & RPG Realms. Speaking of RPG Realms, you can make these Realms by creating a Multiplayer Server. Once you have done that, you will need to make various Text-based messages to distinguish what kind of message they are. As such, formatting the Codes using Color and Format Codes becomes necessary. In this guide, I will show you how to use Color & Format Codes in Minecraft.

How to use Color & Format Codes in Minecraft

Advertisement

color format codes minecraft
Image Source – Voizdev

The Color & Format Codes in Minecraft allows a player to edit and stylize their text. This Text can be either text in a chat, the Message of the Day(MOTD), an On-screen message, etc. The way it works is pretty simple even though it may look like jargon. They function similarly to the command codes in the game. For whatever color you want to use, just copy the below code and paste it right next to your Text. Make sure to not leave a space in between or else the space will be displayed. Here is how to write them:

  • MOTD: Hello Minecraft Players.
  • Converting it to blue text will look like this.
    • \u00A79Hello Minecraft Players.

Advertisement

Your MOTD will become blue. You can apply the Color & Format Codes by applying them to your Multiplayer Server. To access the Server files, you will need to go to the /Documents/MC servers/(the Server name) & open up the server.properties Text File. Here you will be able to edit certain Server Texts using the Minecraft Color & Format Codes. You can also Bold, Italicize, Underline, etc. your Text. See the table below for all of the Codes.

The Minecraft Codes Table

Color Minecraft Name Chat Code Decimal Code Hexadecimal Code MOTD Code
Dark Red dark_red §4 11141120 AA0000 \u00A74
Red red §c 16733525 FF5555 \u00A7c
Gold gold §6 16755200 FFAA00 \u00A76
Yellow yellow §e 16777045 FFFF55 \u00A7e
Dark Green dark_green §2 43520 00AA00 \u00A72
Green green §a 5635925 55FF55 \u00A7a
Aqua aqua §b 5636095 55FFFF \u00A7b
Dark Aqua dark_aqua §3 43690 00AAAA \u00A73
Dark Blue dark_blue §1 170 0000AA \u00A71
Blue blue §9 5592575 5555FF \u00A79
Light Purple light_purple §d 16733695 FF55FF \u00A7d
Dark Purple dark_purple §5 11141290 AA00AA \u00A75
White white §f 16777215 FFFFFF \u00A7f
Gray gray §7 11184810 AAAAAA \u00A77
Dark Gray dark_gray §8 5592405 555555 \u00A78
Black black §0 0 0 \u00A70
Obfuscated obfuscated §k \u00A7k
Bold bold §l \u00A7l
 Strikethrough (JE only) strikethrough §m \u00A7m
Underline (JE only) underline §n \u00A7n
Italic italic §o \u00A7o
Reset reset §r \u00A7r
New Line new_line \n \n

Advertisement

The Chat codes above work with Text in a Book & Quil, & Signs. They will also work in BE Chat but not JE Chat. If you want a Visual Representation of how to use the Color & Format codes then check out the video from our Youtube Channel.

This was all about how to use the Color & Format Codes in Minecraft. You can also check out our other articles like How To Find The World Seed in Minecraft.

Advertisement