Home > God Of War Ragnarok > GOW Ragnarok Skill System: How Does It Work? (Explained)

God Of War Ragnarok Skill System: How Does It Work? (Explained)

Wondering about unlocking and upgrading skills for Kratos? Check out our guide that explains how the Skill system works in God of War Ragnarok.

Throughout the God of War series, Kratos is already a straight-up killing machine. But when he faces Norse gods like Odin, Thor, & Freya, he might need an upgrade. Similar to the God of War (2018), there are a plethora of skills that you can unlock for Kratos and your weapons. Having said that, GOW Ragnarok features the Skill Labours for their Skill system. So, how does it work? Check out our guide that explains how does the Skill system work in God of War Ragnarok.


How Does the Skill System Work in God of War Ragnarok

Unlike the previous GOW, you don’t need to grind for XP to upgrade and improve “every skill” in the skill tree. While you do need to spend your earned XP to unlock the different skills, you need to increase the Skill Labours tiers to upgrade your weapons. As you level up your weapons, you will unlock more skills and abilities for your weapons. Speaking of skills, there are three different Skill trees for the Kratos. And they are as follows:

    • Technique
    • Ranged
    • Melee

You need to reach level 6 to unlock all the skills for your weapons in GOW Ragnarok.

god of war ragnarok skill system how does it work


What is Skill Labour in GOW Ragnarok

After unlocking a skill for the weapons, you need to grind or use that skill as much as possible. This grinding is called Skill Labour in God of War Ragnarok. Rather than spending XP for every skill, you need to use the unlocked skills on your weapons to upgrade them. As the name suggests, it revolves around using and grinding on the unlocked skill to progress through its tier.

There are three tiers for the Skill Labors and they are as follows:

    • Bronze
    • Silver
    • Gold
  • You can check the progression for it by heading over to the Skills Menu.
  • Once you reach the Gold tier, you can enhance the unlocked skill furthermore. This will reward players with three buffs or abilities. But to do so, you need to spend 1000 XP.

Make a note that you need to grind to increase the tiers of Skill trees. In addition to that, these skills would differ for different weapons. Similar to Kratos, there is a different skill tree for Atreus and his companions as well.

That’s everything covered about how does the Skill System work in God of War Ragnarok. If you liked this guide, check out our more guides on how to do a Quick Turn, how to get Risen Snow and Darkdale Armor, how to parry, and more God of War Ragnarok Guides right here on Gamer Tweak.