CS2 Ranks: Competitive & Premier Rating System Explained

Here's all you need to know about the Counter-Strike 2 Ranked system and what can we expect.

With plenty of overhauls, Counter-Strike 2 is undoubtedly a huge upgrade in terms of rank distribution and ratings. As you climb your way forward to the leaderboard, it’s essential to know the basics of these new changes. Ever since the new Premier Rating system was introduced in CS2, many players have been confused about how it works. Having that said, Valve hasn’t discarded the previous competetive ranks.

Instead, the new Premier Mode features a more transparent ranking based on ELO ratings. This allows CS players to explore and try out different rating styles based on their preferences. So, check out our guide that explains everything about CS2 ranks and the Premier Rating system.

How Does the CS2 Premier Mode Work?

CS2 Ranks Premier Mode Rating
Image Source – Valve

The new Premier mode is based on the ELO style rankings known as CS Rating. But for that, you must win 10 Premier matches to get your first rating. Once unlocked, you can check your Premier rating on the leaderboard. You can check this among your friends, region, and the world.

This rating is divided into seven Premier ranks represented by different colors. So, here’s the list of all the Premier rankings in CS2:

  • 0 to 4,999: Gray
  • 5,000 to 9,000: Light Blue
  • 10,000 to 14,999: Blue
  • 15,000 to 19,999: Purple
  • 20,000 to 24,999: Bright Purple
  • 25,000 to 29,999: Red
  • 30,000 to above: Gold

Note that your ranks will be reset once the current season ends. Premier Ratings features the rating system with MR12 format. So, you can play a maximum of 12 rounds per side totaling 24 rounds. In the case of a draw or tie, the maximum rounds will total 30 rounds.

If you want to know more about this ranking system, check out our detailed Premier mode guide which explains everything about it.

CS2 Competetive Ranks (Explained)

cs2 ranks primer mode rating

The competetive ranks for Counter-Strike 2 remain the same as in CSGO. However, the only difference is that these ranks will be for individual maps. If you rank Master Guardian II for Dust 2, it won’t be carried to other maps like Inferno or Mirage. You must grind for particular maps based on your preferences and mastery. In this case, you don’t have to play the maps you dislike or can’t seem to get more kills.

So, here’s the list of all the tiers and competetive ranks in CS2:

  • Silver Tier
    • Silver I
    • Silver II
    • Silver III
    • Silver IV
    • Silver Elite
    • Silver Elite Master
  • Gold Tier
    • Gold Nova I
    • Gold Nova II
    • Gold Nova III
    • Gold Nova Master
  • Master Guardian Tier
    • Master Guardian I
    • Master Guardian II
    • Master Guardian Elite
    • Distinguished Master Guardian
  • Legendary Tier
    • Legendary Eagle
    • Legendary Eagle Master
  • Supreme Master First Class
  • Global Elite

That’s all about the CS2 Ranks and Premier Rating System. If you found this guide helpful, check out our guides to find out the best tips for new players, how to play with friends, and explore more Counter Strike 2 Guides in our dedicated section right here on Gamer Tweak.