MW2 Ranked Play SR Levels, Skill Divisions, And Ranks (Explained)

Here are all the details you need to know about the skill divisions, SR levels and Ranks in MW2 Ranked Play.

Season 2 in MW2 introduced the new Ranked Play mode with its own levels and progression by SR. This type of ranked competitive mode has existed in previous CoD titles. This one, however, is highly thought out and refined besides being balanced. Let’s take a deeper look at how Ranked Play works in MW2.

All details about Ranked Play SR Levels, Skill Divisions, and Ranks in MW2

mw2 ranked levels sr mw2

With so many good improvements made over the last iteration of ranked in CoD Vanguard like the addition of SR (Skill Rating), there is much to learn about the new Ranked Play system and its rules. Here is all you need to know about Ranked Play in MW2.

How to play Ranked Play in MW2?

First of all, in order to start playing Ranked Play, you need to be at or above level 16. This is in place so that new players who have no knowledge of the game cant play. They won’t be able to play unless they have a good grasp of the game.

This is also for people who make alternate accounts, they won’t be able to just make an account and immediately start playing in Ranked Play in the starting Bronze Division. Once you are level 16, you should be able to just access Ranked Play through the main menu.

What are the Ranked Play Rules and Regulations In MW2?

In Ranked Play, everything is unlocked and there is no level requirement for using any gun or its attachments. This is done to create a level and balanced playing field so no player is blocked from using any type of gear. Even the new weapons that come with the new season are unlocked with all attachments for you to build a loadout with.

You might think that you can just make all your OP loadouts in Ranked Play and increase your ranked level in MW2 if everything is unlocked right? Well, not really. In Ranked Play, certain guns as well as certain attachments are banned.

This list even includes items like throwables, Field Upgrades, and Killstreaks. For example, the most notable thing that is banned in Ranked Play is suppressors. Even the most popular AR, the M4, is banned.

Ranked Play in MW2 is 4v4 and only has 3 game modes that come randomly and are not allowed to be filtered like quick play. These 3 modes are Hardpoint, Control, and Search & Destroy.

How does SR work for Ranked Play in MW2?

While the SR levels system has existed in other competitive multiplayer games, it’s a new addition to the CoD series. In general, your Ranked SR levels in MW2 increase when you get wins and decrease when you get a loss. But, there are other factors that determine the amount of SR that you gain or lose. The factors that come into play for SR are mainly your performance and what you were able to achieve in a match.

However, the more you progress through Ranked Play and its SR divisions, the more it becomes about how your entire team performed rather than just one player. This is because, in higher SR levels, team play is rewarded more instead of the player who got the most kills or the player who had the most objective plays, etc.

How do Ranked Play Skill Divisions work?

skill divisions mw2 how sr works

Listed below are all the Skill Divisions and the respective required SR for them:

  • Bronze: 0 – 899 SR
  • Silver: 900 – 2,099 SR
  • Gold: 2,100 – 3,599 SR
  • Platinum: 3,600 – 5,399 SR
  • Diamond: 5,400 – 7,499 SR
  • Crimson: 7,500 – 9,999 SR
  • Iridescent: 10,000 SR
  • Top 250: 10,000+ SR (Depending on leader board standing)

For every Skill division mentioned above, there are 3 tiers in each that you have to progress through in order to get to the next division in the ranked levels of MW2. For example, the silver tier has Silver Tier 1, Silver Tier 2, and Silver Tier 3.

However, the 3 tier system only applies up until Crimson Division. Iridescent is technically the last division. You only progress further if you make it into the Top 250 for that season.

In the next season, you will start at 1 Skill division below your previous one at the end of the previous season. For example, If you were in Gold Tier 2 then you will start in Silver Tier 2 in the next season.

How do Ranks work in Ranked Play and what do they do?

Ranks Ranked play mw2 sr

Ranks in Ranked play are a separate type of progression. They have no real connection to your Ranked SR levels and Skill Division in MW2. Everyone starts at Rank 1 and there are 50 Ranks in total.

In order to progress through Ranks, you have to earn stars. The way this works is that Stars are earned by winning a Ranked Play match. Earning enough stars progresses to the next Rank.

Ranks are not taken into consideration for match-making. Your Ranks are just a way to have a sense of progression in Ranked Play. Ranks don’t change based on the seasons either.

You also cannot lose Ranks and can only gain more until you reach Rank 50. Ranks are meant to define your Ranked Play progression and reflect how much of it you have played. You can also get certain rewards at certain ranks which makes it fun to go for wins in order to further your Rank besides your SR.

That is all you need to know about Ranked Play and its levels in MW2. For more guides like this, check out our other articles like how to unlock Ranked Play skins and the best ISO Hemlock build for Ranked Play in MW2 and Warzone 2.