How Do Contracts Work in Valorant?

Find out all about contracts

Valorant is a multiplayer FPS shooter which is currently in closed beta. If you are playing Valorant and want to know how contracts work in the game, you are at the right place. Read till the end to find out what are contracts, what’s the onboarding pass, what’s the battle pass contract and more.

What are Contracts and how do they work?

Contracts are basically “goals” which, on completion, give you rewards. There will be two types of contracts in Valorant; one that is specific to Agents and one that is the Battle pass Contract. The Battle pass will come when the game officially releases in Summer 2020. It will not be present in the beta.

The XP that you earn will apply to both “contract slots” so you can rest easy. You don’t have to decide which one to give priority.

What is the Onboarding Pass in Valorant?

If you are a new player, you will get the “onboarding pass” where you must unlock 10 tiers. When you do so, you will unlock two more Agents (of your choice) and some cosmetics as well. After getting a hang of this, new players can move to specific Agent contracts. More on this below.

What is the Battle Pass Contract?

The other slot is the Battle Pass contract aka the Story Contract. The Battle pass contract will be activated automatically, unlike the Agent contracts. This has two types of rewards; premium and free. True to its name, the premium ones will need you to spend some money for access but the rewards will be purely cosmetic and will not affect gameplay.

What are Agent Contracts?

In the closed beta, Valorant has quite a few agents – ten to be exact. Five of them will be free from the very beginning and they are Sova, Sage, Brimstone, Phoenix and Jett. The other five agents, Breach, Omen, Viper, Raze and Cypher have to be unlocked. Simply put, the Agent contracts will help you unlock these agents.

If you already have a certain character though, don’t worry. You will unlock that character’s cosmetics instead. Whatever you have your eye on, just activate the contract, play the game, earn experience and when you do complete the contract, you will be rewarded.

If you don’t want to grind, you can spend money and reach tier 5 to unlock the Agent directly. But after that, you have to play to level up from tier 6 to tier 10.

Also Read: These Are The Best Agents in Valorant

Remember that in order to earn EXP to complete a contract, you can use any character. No necessity to use the character that you have activated. Another thing to note is that you can only have one contract active at a time, so decide carefully. But if you change your mind, you can change the contract without worrying about the loss of progress in the previous contract.

How to know your Contract Progress?

To check your contract progress, visit the main lobby or check the tab named Collection. From there, you can select the Character tab and check the contract.

So, this is essentially how contracts work in Valorant. While you are here, do read our other Valorant guides.