Home > FE Engage Guides > Fire Emblem Difficult Settings Guide

Fire Emblem Engage Difficulty Level: How To Change It?

Here's everything you should know about the Difficulty Settings in Fire Emblem Engage.

Fire Emblem Engage is one of the most merciless games if you are unaware of the genre. On your way to defeat the opposite forces, you will be coming across many difficult enemies and bosses. Like any other RPG game, you can choose the Difficulty Level for the sake of smoother gameplay. If you are new to this game, then this guide features everything about the difficulty settings. Read till the end to know about the differences in difficulty levels and the steps to change them in Fire Emblem Engage.


How to Change Difficulty Level in FE Engage

There are 3 different Difficulty Options in this game that can be changed as per the player’s preference. You can select the easiest or toughest one depending on the nature of your gameplay. Anyways, to change the Difficulty in FE Engage, simply head over to Somniel (unlocks after Chapter 3) and enter your room. Further, go near your bed and interact with it after which you will be given the option to change the Difficulty Settings. Here are all the Difficulty Options:

Fire Emblem Difficult Settings Guide

  • Normal – As the name suggests, this difficulty setting is for beginners. Opting for this difficulty level will help you progress smoothly through the storyline. You won’t be put in a die-die situation if you have selected the Normal difficulty level in Fire Emblem Engage.
  • Hard – As compared to the Normal difficulty setting, this one is tougher. The gameplay becomes more punishing as the stats of the enemies you will be facing are almost maxed up. Hence, you will be under more pressure if you have chosen this difficulty level.
  • Maddening – This setting is for all the lunatics out there who love unforgiving gameplay. Mostly, this difficulty level is selected by players who are used to such games. In a comparison of the previous settings, the Maddenig difficulty setting is the hardest to play in Fire Emblem Engage.

Game Mode Difficulty Differences Explained

Casual and Classic are the 2 Game Modes in Fire Emblem Engage. What separates these modes is the infamous Permadeath Feature. For those who don’t know, if Permadeath is on, then the decimated units are lost permanently. Moreover, there is no way to turn off the Permadeath option in FE Engage. The only thing that can sort out this problem is playing in Casual Mode. This is because, while playing in Casual Mode, Permadeath is turned off. Whereas, in Classic Mode, Permadeath is automatically turned on.

Also Read | How Does Permadeath Feature Work In FE Engage


That covers everything on the Difficulty Settings in Fire Emblem Engage. While you are here, make sure to check out our other FE Engage Guides on Gamer Tweak.