Home > Elden Ring > Elden Ring Character Creation Guide

How To Create A Character In Elden Ring – Character Creation Guide

Read this guide to learn how to create a character in Elden Ring.

Heard you were looking to learn more about character creation in Elden Ring? Well, we have got just the guide for you. Creating a character is one of the best elements you can experience in the game. The ability to create your own character with your choice of statistics according to your needs can be wonderful. However, the experience of character creation can also be rather complex and overwhelming. To ease this dilemma, we have got just the guide for you. Here, we will show you all you need to know about creating a character.

Elden Ring Character Creation Guide – How to Create a Character?

There are several different elements that make up part of the character creation process in Elden Ring. Let us explore them in detail.

Classes/Base Character – Elden Ring Character Creation


Base characters are the first step of the character creation process in Elden Ring. These are also known as classes. The game offers you 10 different classes to pick from and base your character on. These 10 classes are as follows:

  • Vagabond
  • Warrior
  • Hero
  • Bandit
  • Astrologer
  • Prophet
  • Samurai
  • Prisoner
  • Confessor
  • Wretch

Each of these classes possesses their own unique strengths and weaknesses that will affect gameplay differently. If you are new to the game and are wondering which of these classes is best for you, take a look at our Elden Ring Best Starting Classes Guide.



The next step in the character creation process is Keepsakes, and there are 10 of them in the game. Once you pick a Class, you will find yourself in the Create Character menu. Here, you can edit elements like your Name, Body Type, Age, Origin, and Keepsake.

Keepsakes offer you an advantage that helps in your quest to survive. For example, you can pick a Keepsake that helps you get damage reduction. Let us now take a look at the Keepsakes in Elden Ring.

  • Crimson Amber Medallion
  • Lands Between Rune
  • Golden Seed
  • Fanged Imp Ashes
  • Cracked Pot
  • Stonesword Key
  • Bewitching Branch
  • Boiled Prawn
  • Shabriri’s Woe

Base Template

Once you choose your Keepsake, you can proceed towards picking your base template, and there are 10 of them in Elden Ring.

  • Warrior
  • Truth-Seeker
  • Aristocrat
  • Loner
  • Northerner
  • Seafarer
  • Reedlander
  • Draconian
  • Nightfolk
  • Numen

Detailed Appearance


As the name suggests, this menu offers you greater customization options for your character. Here, you will be able to alter elements such as Voice, Skin Color, Face & Hair, and Body.

And that’s all you need to know about the character customization experience in Elden Ring. As you can see, the game offers you several different personalization options. We recommend you take your time in this menu. Doing so will help you get the best, most personalized character in the game.

Now that you know all about creating a character, take a look at our guide on How to Beat the Tree Sentinel in Elden Ring.