Home > Valorant > Ascendant Valorant

Valorant: Ascendant Rank Explained

Tired of being stuck at Diamond and can't move up at Immortal in Valorant? Now you can climb to Ascendant.

Ascendant is the newest rank in Valorant that can help you ascend from Diamond 3. Not sorry for the bad pun, but it can be a real pain staying stuck at the same rank for ages. And escaping the “ELO Hell” has been one of the biggest struggles since the game has been around. But many of these problems might just get solved by this new rank. So let us quickly check the Ascendant rank in Valorant.

Valorant New Ascendant Rank


ascendant rank valorant
Image Credit: ValorLeaks on Twitter

There will now be a new rank between Diamond and Immortal known as Ascendant. The developers decided to add this rank because the lower ranks like bronze and silver have too many players. They couldn’t simply move these players up as it would then overpopulate the Platinum and Diamond ranks. Hence Riot has introduced the Ascendant rank for us. Thus giving many players a chance to escape the “ELO hell”. This change will directly affect the players below Immortal as they will move up in Rank.

Valorant has also moved MMR targets down for players below Ascendant. Immortal and Radiant players are also affected by this as their MMR targets have been moved up for them. A few more changes to ranking include.


  • Highest placement rank: You can now start from Ascendant 1 instead of Diamond 1.
  • Five stack penalty: You now get the 25% RR penalty for five-stack at Immortal 1 instead of Diamond 3.

So to sum it up these will be the new ranks in Valorant.

  • Radiant
  • Immortal 1, Immortal 2, Immortal 3
  • Ascendant 1, Ascendant 2, Ascendant 3
  • Diamond 1, Diamond 2, Diamond 3
  • Platinum 1, Platinum 2, Platinum 3
  • Gold 1, Gold 2, Gold 3
  • Silver 1, Silver 2, Silver 3
  • Bronze 1, Bronze 2, Bronze 3
  • Iron 1, Iron 2, Iron3


Oh and another thing that changed with this rank is the Sage Contract’s Tier 8 reward. The new title will be called Dauntless instead of Ascendant.

The new rank will be introduced in Episode 5 Act 1 of Valorant.

That covers everything you should know about Ascendant rank in Valorant. If you want to learn more about ranks then check out our comparison of Valorant and CS: GO ranks.