How To Upgrade Your Characters In Darkest Dungeon 2

Here are various ways you can upgrade your characters and their skills in Darkest Dungeon 2.

Darkest Dungeon 2 is a tough game, so you need to upgrade your character skills from time to time. However, the game does not tell you how to do it. As you collect wins in the beginning, you’ll be rewarded with an in-game currency called Mastery Points. But where should you use these points? And how to level up your characters to fight tough bosses? This guide will tell you everything you need to know about character upgrading.

Darkest Dungeon 2: How to Upgrade Character Skills

Upgrade characters in Mastery Trainer in Darkest Dungeon 2
Image Source: Darkestdungeon Fandom

To upgrade character skills in Darkest Dungeon 2, you will need Mastery Points. There are two ways to get Mastery Points, through the Main battle or the Road battle. The Main battle is difficult, however, it has a 50% drop rate for Mastery Points. On the other hand, Road battles are relatively easy, but there is only a 12.5% chance of getting Mastery Points.

Once you farm enough Mastery Points, head over to any Inn in the game. There are multiple Inns in this game and reaching them is time-consuming. However, you can upgrade the Stagecoach to the max level to reach the Inns instantly.

At the Inns, you can restore your character’s health and get or upgrade new and existing skills. To upgrade skills in Darkest Dungeon 2:

  1. Enter the Inn.
  2. Click on the Mastery Trainer tab at the bottom-left corner of the screen.
  3. Then, select the character you want to upgrade.
  4. Select the ability you want to level up.

Make sure you read the description of what the upgrade does before upgrading. As you level up the skills, the cost of upgrading will gradually go up.

New Abilities and Altar of Hope

Apart from Mastery Points, you will also find other items like the Candles of Hope. If you have these candles, then you will be forced to spend it at the Altar of Hope. With the Candles of Hope, you can apply permanent upgrades, apply Memories, or unlock new loot pools for your characters.

Moreover, you will also find an upgrade node location called the Shrine of Reflection throughout the map. These locations will unlock new abilities for that certain character and reveal a part of their history.

That’s all from us on how to upgrade your characters in Darkest Dungeon 2. Along with skills, you should also know which are the best characters in this game.