Dota 2: Ranking System & MMR Explained

Here's a guide on the Ranking system in Dota 2 and how MMR plays a role in it.

Dota 2 is without a doubt one of the biggest MOBA games in the world. The game has a huge fan base with a lot of events and competitive gameplay worldwide. Dota 2 was also one of the Esports games at the 2022 Birmingham Commonwealth games. While the players are certainly enjoying the game, some are still confused with the Ranking system. So in this guide, we will explain the Ranking System of Dota 2, and the role of MMR in it.

What is the Ranking System of Dota 2 and How to Unlock it

Dota 2 MMR and Ranking System

The ranking system of Dota 2 is a simple tool used for matchmaking to improve the effectiveness of fair fights. If you create a new account, you will not be able to see this option as there are some criteria to unlock the ranking system. Here’s all on how to unlock the Ranking System in Dota 2:

  • You will have to play for at least 100 hours. There is no dedicated game mode, you will simply have to play for 100 hours before you unlock it.
  • After that, you will have to link a valid phone number to your Steam account. They might verify so be prepared when you do so.
  • Next, you will have to play 10 calibration matches which will have an impact on your Rank. This will be the last phase before you unlock ranked matchmaking in the game.

Dota 2 Medal Tiers

There are several tiers in Dota 2 and your MMR plays a huge role in your current tier. MMR has nothing to do with in-game performance but it is more of a ratio of your wins and losses. Here are all the Medal Tiers in Dota 2 and the MMR requirement as part of the ranking system:

  • Herald –
    • Herald I: 0 MMR
    • Herald II: 154 MMR
    • Herald III: 308 MMR
    • Herald IV: 462 MMR
    • Herald V: 616 MMR
  • Guardian –
    • Guardian I: 770 MMR
    • Guardian II: 924 MMR
    • Guardian III: 1,078 MMR
    • Guardian IV: 1,232 MMR
    • Guardian V: 1,386 MMR
  • Crusader –
    • Crusader I: 1,540 MMR
    • Crusader II: 1,694 MMR
    • Crusader III: 1,848 MMR
    • Crusader IV: 2,002 MMR
    • Crusader V: 2,156 MMR
  • Archon –
    • Archon I: 2,310 MMR
    • Archon II: 2,464 MMR
    • Archon III: 2,618 MMR
    • Archon IV: 2,772 MMR
    • Archon V: 2,926 MMR
  • Legend –
    • Legend I: 3,080 MMR
    • Legend II: 3,234 MMR
    • Legend III: 3,388 MMR
    • Legend IV: 3,542 MMR
    • Legend V: 3,696 MMR
  • Ancient –
    • Ancient I: 3,850 MMR
    • Ancient II: 4,004 MMR
    • Ancient III: 4,158 MMR
    • Ancient IV: 4,312 MMR
    • Ancient V: 4,466 MMR
  • Divine –
    • Divine I: 4,620 MMR
    • Divine II: 4,820 MMR
    • Divine III: 5,020 MMR
    • Divine IV: 5,220 MMR
    • Divine V: 5,420 MMR
  • Immortal – Immortal is the highest tier and there is no distribution of ranks into sub-tiers. Although you will still earn MMR, you will be competing for the regional leaderboard.

That’s all there is from the Ranking System of Dota 2. While you are here, make sure to check out our Dota 2 guides for more content with Gamer Tweak.