Home > Gaming > Valorant Competitive Rank Guide

How Ranking Works In Valorant?

Competitive ranks explained

Limited users have access to Valorant Beta, which does not reveal much about the game. However, we can pull out some details on the ranking system. In Valorant the there are 7 different tiers of ranks including three in each. As you progress based on your gameplay and agent you will unlock a rank and progress further to higher ranks. There are penalties also, but it is unclear how it will affect your rank. You will begin as Unranked and progress to a higher ranking based on your choices and performance. So here is a guide on how competitive ranking works in Valorant.

Valorant Ranking System Explained

Based on a screenshot leaked on the web Ranking system is pretty straightforward in Valorant. There are 7 different type of section in the Ranking system. They are:

  1. Mercenary
  2. Soldier
  3. Veteran
  4. Hero
  5. Legend
  6. Mythic
  7. Immortal

Each of these attributes has three levels to unlock the topmost badge. As a new player, you will begin with Unranked and progress based on your kills, points, and other factors. If you are playing as Mercenary there are three Sub Ranks and later a final badge which might be a symbol of the best Valorant player.

Valorant Rankig System Guide

Ranking system will also impact matching making in Valorant, each player will be filtered via MMR to participate. MMR is a Match Making Rating system leaked through various players who had tested Valorant. There will be highs and lows in this system, which means you might someday earn good ratings, but it will also fall due to penalties or kill death ratio.

Competitive Rankings:

  • Complete 20 Unrated matches to unlock Competitive mode
  • 8 ranks, 3 tiers each, except the top rank, VALORANT
  • Queue with up to 5-player parties, must be within 2 ranks
  • Rank isn’t displayed if competitive matches aren’t played within 14 days, but your rank doesn’t decay behind the scenes.
  • Closed beta rank does not carry over to launch

You will enter Competitive matchmaking  after playing 20 Unrated Matches. There are total 8 Levesl of Ranks. Each one is divided into three tiers of –

  1. Iron
  2. Bronze
  3. Silver
  4. Gold
  5. Platinum
  6. Diamond
  7. Immortal
  8. Valorant – The highest Rank

The ranking relies on your performance, the better you play the more you progress to the upper level. Valorant also penalizes you for losing games, and poor performance. So this does not mean once you unlock a rank you will stay on that forever. If your dying fast or unable to win matches your ranking will also crash. Competitive Ranking relies on the win or losses ratio. But there are few more factors, however, you can consider these two as the primary ones. If you do not play any competitive match within two weeks your account will be considered as inactive. No one will be able to see your rank, but it will be displayed back as you return.

You can improve your ranking by playing in groups. With over 24 Ranks to unlock you will begin with the very first after completing 20 matches. If you had played this in Beta you will be on Unranked, and your first rank will be unlocked after 5 matches. Placement of players relies on similar stats, depending on their wins and defeat. You cannot play with players who are 6 levels or below your rank.