All God Of War Games In Order – Release Date & Chronological

Here are the orders to play the entire God of War games.

The God of War games is one of the biggest franchises and is a favorite to many players. In God Of War, you play as the main hero Kratos in his quest to seek revenge on the Greek gods for the murder of his entire family. This is an epic of a mere mortal who ascends to godhood to annihilate the ruling Gods of Olympus who wronged him. To learn of his past, his despair, and his blood lust, you will have to play all of the God of War titles. There are a few ways to do this. One way is by playing it in their Release Order or their Storyline Order. In today’s guide, I will show you all of the God of War Games in Order.

All God of War Games in Order

god of war games

Like I have mentioned above, there are two ways of playing the entire God of War Franchise. The first is playing in their release order and the second way is to play according to the order of the Storyline. Either way is fine as you won’t get lost at any point while playing the games. So here are the orders of playing the God of War games.

All GoW games in Chronological Order

Below is the Storyline order of the God of War games:

  • God of War: Ascension
  • God of War: Chains of Olympus
  • The God of War I
  • God of War: Ghost of Sparta
  • God of War: Betrayal (Cannon but is optional)
  • The God of War II: Divine Retribution
  • God of War III
  • God of War

All GoW games in Release Order

Below is the Release order of the God of War games:

  • God of War I (2005)
  • God of War II: Divine Retribution (2007)
  • The God of War: Betrayal (2007) (Cannon but is optional)
  • God of War: Chains of Olympus (2008)
  • God of War III (2010)
  • The God of War: Ghost of Sparta (2010)
  • God of War: Ascension (2013)
  • God of War (2018)

The Story of God of War Games

god of war story

The story starts off in God of War: Ascension with Kratos six months after he was tricked into killing his family by Ares and was captured by the Furies for breaking his blood oath with Ares. With the help of Orkos, Kratos helps the Gods of Olympus and overthrows the plans of Ares. You can play God of War: Ascension on the PS3. The next in line in the franchise is God of War: Chains of Olympus that you can play on the PlayStation Portable. In this instance, Kratos pledges his service to the Gods of Olympus, and during this time the world falls into darkness, and the God of the Sun, Helios, is kidnapped. He must stop the evil plans of the goddess Persephone to use the Titan Atlas to destroy the world.

Now comes the first installment of the franchise, God of War I which is playable on the PS2. Here, Athena gives Kratos the task to find Pandora’s Box to give him the power required to beat Ares. Our hero experiences flashbacks of the horrors he had committed. He kills Ares and becomes the new God of War. After that comes God of War: Ghost of Sparta that you can play on the PlayStation Portable. Still plagued by the horrors of his mortal past, he embarks on a journey to discover his origins. On the way he finds out about his mother & brother are still alive. Thanatos, the God of Death, has his brother Deimos captive and goes to free him. In the battle, his brother dies and he goes back to Olympus further enraged at the Gods.

God of War: Betrayal is next in the installments. It is the only game in the series to be made for Mobiles. Here our hero gets framed for Murder and sets loose on the lands of Greece. He succumbs to hoi bloodlust and kills Ceryx, son of Hermes. This further separates him and the other Gods of Olympus. the next part of the story takes place in God of War II: Divine Retribution which is playable on PS2. Furious at the Gods, Kratos lays waste on the City of Rhodes after which Zeus betrays him. Saved by Titan Gaia, is advised to go meet the sisters of Fate and prevents his Death. Later he finds out that he is Zeus’s son and out of fear is why his father betrayed him. Kratos joins the Titans to attack Mount Olympus.

God of War III, playable on the PS3, happens right after  Kratos makes the alliance with the Titans. Reigniting the Great War, Kratos is betrayed by the Titans as they were using him to get to Zeus. Filled with rage, Kratos seeks vengeance on both the Gods & Titans. Spirit of Athena helps and instructs him to get the Flame in order to defeat Zeus. He engages all of the Gods and Titans in a series of battles and is successful in killing Zeus. In the Flame was Pandora’s Box which gave Kratos power. He refuses to help Athena and kills himself to release the power he had received.

In God of War which is playable on the PS4, Kratos ends up in the world of Norse mythology. His second wife, Faye, dies and her final wish is to release her ashes at the highest point in all of the Nine Realms. He and his son, Atreus, embark on the journey to fulfill his lats wife’s wish. Along the journey, Baldur, son of Odin attacks them. Odin does this to prevent Ragnarok from happening. Kratos is successful in killing Baldur and gets to the highest Peak of a Mountain, which is in Jotunheim. At this point, the game has taken a different direction from where it has started and the story will continue in the announced God of War Ragnarök.

The best experience of God of War games is when you play them first hand. You will be traversing the lands of Greece, Sparta, and like as well as The Nine Realms of Yggdrasil. In whichever order you play the God of War game, you are sure to enjoy it. Hopefully, this guide has helped you. You can also check our guides on The Anchor Of Fog & Kara Boss Fight Guide in God of War.