All FFXIV Expansions And DLCs In Order

Check out our guide to find out all the expansions and DLCs in FFXIV in order.

FFXIV is an MMORPG that revolves around a high-fantasy open world known as Eorzea. While the first expansion had an extensive open world, it received backlash from the fans for its gameplay and it being incomplete. But with subsequent DLCs and expansions, things geared up for a Final Fantasy series in a short span of 10 years. In addition to that, each of the expansions added much to the gameplay and interface. So, check out our guide to find out all the expansions and DLCs in FFXIV in order.

All FFXIV Expansions & DLCs in Order

Mentioned below are all the expansions in order:

  • Final Fantasy XIV (2010)
  • Final Fantasy XIV Realm Reborn (2013)
  • Final Fantasy XIV Heavensward (2015)
  • Final Fantasy XIV Stormblood (2017)
  • Final Fantasy XIV Shadowbringers (2019)
  • Final Fantasy XIV Endwalker (2021)
  • Final Fantasy  XIV New Expansion (?)

Now, let’s delve deeper into each of these expansions in more detail.


While Final Fantasy XIV has a long history to unwind, it all started from here. As it was released, players had several issues regarding its gameplay and interface. But the major problem was that the game was not finished yet. But Square Enix made amends and replacements to treat the fans better. As the game received tons of negative reviews from the community, the next move was their only chance at redemption.

ffxiv expansions dlcs in order

FFXIV A Realm Reborn

And it worked! Realm Reborn was a commercial success as it treated fans with exactly what they wanted. While it is not an expansion, it exceptionally rebooted the series. If you have played the game back then, you would agree that the devs did a pretty solid job at its mechanics and worldbuilding. As you play a certain class, each had its unique gameplay. It was heavily praised by the players and critics alike. Although suffering horrible reviews and a poor fiscal year, Realm Reborn revived the hype for the series.

FFXIV Heavensward

This expansion added over three new jobs with an increase in the level cap to 60. Players were also fascinated that they could use the dragons as a mount with some new mechanics. In addition to that, the game also added a playable race, new dungeons, raids, and some interesting mechanics. While fans had to wait for two years, it was all worthwhile.

FFXIV Stormblood

With the second expansion, the series expanded the storyline furthermore. Most of the critics praised this expansion for the emotional tone and complexity of the narrative plot. Stormblood also introduced two of the most popular classes of all time, Red Mage and Samurai. The devs also introduced the swimming mechanics and revamped the battle system entirely.

FFXIV Shadowbringers

Shadowbringers was the first expansion to move to a parallel dimension. While players have witnessed dragons and partaken in wars, this expansion teleported the characters to an apocalyptic succumbs. It received heavily positive reviews and praises from critics. With consistent patches and updates, new features, storylines, and mechanics were also added to the game. In addition to that, there was a storyline that involved a crossover between the Nier: Automata and Restoration of Ishguard.

FFXIV Endwalker (Current)

ffxiv all expansions in order

As the expansion was released, FFXIV received universal acclaim from all over the globe. It was praised by not only the players but also the critics. Although Endwalker concluded the story arc that began in Realm Reborn, the upcoming patches will debut a fresh arc. In 2021, the game was credited as one of the most profitable series in the history of Final Fantasy.

FFXIV Future Expansion (?)

While Naoki Yoshida has confirmed that there is an expansion underway in the future, we will also see some major changes in Endwalker itself. He added that there will be graphical changes that involve high resolution with shaders. But he stated that these graphical changes won’t change the game’s aesthetic. So, we can expect a big change before the new expansion drops in. As for the future expansion, we might have to wait a little longer.

That’s all on all the expansions and DLCs for FFXIV in order. If you liked this guide, check out our other FFXIV Guides right here on Gamer Tweak.

You might also like