Home > Destiny 2 > Campaign Order for New Light Players

Destiny 2 Campaign Order for New Light Players

Bungie released Shadowkeep for Destiny 2 while also making the base game and year one content for absolutely free for everyone. This will allow new players to get into the story of Destiny 2 and experience it first hand. This guide will show you the canon campaign order for Destiny 2.

Destiny 2 Campaign Order for New Light Players


Making Destiny 2 New Light free for everyone saw Destiny 2 see a spike in the player base, but the new players are confused as to how to properly progress in Destiny 2 as everything is unlocked there is no set order as to what comes first and how to progress.

If you wish to play the game in release order it will give you a much more understanding of the story. To progress in the campaign of Destiny 2 you should follow this order:

The Red War


The Red War is the main focus of the base game of Destiny 2 and it will have a major focus on the Cabal legion, the mission order is as follows:

  • Homecoming
  • Adieu
  • Spark
  • Devrim Kay
  • Combustion
  • Hope
  • Riptide
  • Utopia
  • Looped
  • Six
  • Sacrilege
  • Fury
  • Payback
  • Unbroken
  • Larceny
  • 1AU
  • Chosen

Curse of Osiris


The Curse of Osiris was released pretty soon after the initial launch of Destiny 2. The Curse of Osiris was meant to be a mini-expansion and this is the mission order for the same”

  • The Gateway
  • A Deadly Trial
  • Beyond Infinity
  • Deep Storage
  • Tree of Probabilities
  • Hijacked
  • A Garden World
  • Omega



Warmind was the second mini-expansion which followed the Curse of Osiris and progressed the story further. The mission order is as follows:

  • Ice and Shadow
  • Pilgrimage
  • Off-World Recovery
  • Strange Terrain
  • Will of the Thousands


Arguably the best DLC that Destiny 2 has received, Forsaken saw a lot of action and was critically appreciated. The mission order is as follows:

  • Last Call
  • High Plains Blues
  • Scorned
  • The Rider
  • The Trickster
  • The Mad Bomber
  • The Hangman
  • The Mindbender
  • The Rifleman
  • The Machinist
  • Nothing Left to Say

This has been how Destiny 2 has progressed since release and Shadowkeep is the latest DLC to take things ahead.

This is all there is to know about the canon campaign order of Destiny 2. Do check our other Destiny 2 Shadowkeep Guides for more tips, ticks and cheats.