Home > Call of Duty > Black Ops Cold War Alpha

Black Ops Cold War Alpha: When It Releases, How To Download, And More

Activision has announced an Open Alpha for Black Ops Cold War.

The trailer for Black Ops Cold War was recently revealed and the fans had gone crazy to experience the journey of the new Black Ops adventure. To the excitement of everyone, players can now play a Black Ops Cold War Alpha version soon.

When is The Black Ops Cold War Alpha Going Live?

A new trailer for Black Ops Cold War was released during Sony’s latest showcase event. Following the trailer, Sony announced that PS4 players can experience the Open Alpha from Friday, September 18 to Monday, September 20.

In fact, PS4 owners can pre-load the Alpha so that they don’t have to wait once it goes live. The pre-load will begin from today (Thursday, 17 September) itself. Here are the timings when Black Ops Cold War Alpha pre-load will be available for different time zones.

Pre-load Timings

  • 8:00 AM PDT
  • 10:00 AM CDT
  • 11:00 AM EDT
  • 4:00 PM BST (UK)
  • 5:00 PM CEST (EU)

You can pre-load the Alpha version and wait for the game to go live and step into the shoes of the army.

Open Alpha Timings (Start and End)

The Call of Duty: Black Ops Cold War Open Alpha is a weekend event and will start and end at the same timings. The start will be on 18th September and the end will be on 20th September. Here are the timings for the Ps4 Open Alpha to go live.

  • 10:00 AM PDT
  • 12:00 PM CDT
  • 1:00 PM EDT
  • 6:00 PM BST
  • 7:00 PM CEST

How to Download The Black Ops Cold War PS4 Alpha?

To download the Alpha, all you need to do is to head to the PS store at or after the provided pre-load timings. There will be a new window added for the Alpha. Click on it and follow the steps to download the Black Ops Cold War Alpha.

What is The Size of The Open Alpha?

There is no certainty about the file size as it is not yet available in the store, at the time this article is written. However, it is said that the file is set to be around 25 GB. I will update the post with the actual size as soon as it is up for grab.

What Are The Charges of Alpha?

This version is purely an Open Alpha and hence it will be available to every player who owns a PS4. You will not have to pre-order the game to play the Open Alpha. In fact, there is no requirement to even have a PS+ subscription for being a part of the Alpha.

What You Can Experience in Black Ops Cold War Alpha?

According to what is already revealed by Activision, you can get your hands on 6v6 and 12v12 Combined Arms Modes. There are chances that you might be able to get your hands on some more modes available in the game. It is not confirmed as of yet about the list of weapons, maps, and other items or features that would be available in PS4 Alpha.

Can Xbox One and PC Players Play Open Alpha?

The ongoing partnership between Sony and Activision is the cause behind the availability of Open Alpha for PS4 players. Therefore, Xbox One and PC players cannot play the Black Ops Cold War Alpha version. However, the release of the Black Ops Cold War Open Beta version is not too far. It is going to be available from October 17 to October 19, and all the players across any platforms will be able to experience the game. So all the Xbox One and PC players, you will have to wait until then.

That’s everything you need to know about Call of Duty: Black Ops Cold War Alpha. The Initial release of Call of Duty: Black Ops Cold War is set to kick off on Friday, 13 November and it is also going to include a fresh-looking Zombie Mode.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Privacy & Policy