Home > Gaming Guides > Which Zelda Game To Play First?

All Legend Of Zelda Games In Order (Story & Release Date)

Wondering in which order should you complete all Zelda Games before TotK releases? This guide has you covered.

There are more than 17 Zelda games and with Tears of the Kingdom close to being released, many players want to complete them all. And while that is going to take a lot of time, you can still achieve it. So without further ado, here is the Legend of Zelda timeline and play order based on both the Story Chronology and the game’s Release Date.

All Legend of Zelda Games Order

legend of zelda timeline all games in order by story chronology and release date

There are two ways you can go around playing the Zelda games. The first is the Story Chronology based as per Hyrule Historia. This is the book in which Nintendo Officially gives the timeline where each Legend of Zelda game falls in. Do note that many games have released since the book came out, so we have adjusted the games accordingly. Alternatively, you could also play them following their release date. Here are them both:

Legend of Zelda Timeline – Best Play Order

  • Legend of the Gods & the Hero of Time
    • Skyward Sword
    • Minish Cap
    • Four Swords
    • Ocarina of Time (OoT)

After the events of OoT, the Zelda timeline gets split into 3 additional timelines. You can pick any first game from the timeline, complete them, then pick another path. These paths are:

  • The Hero is Defeated (Fallen Hero)
    • A Link to the Past
    • Oracle of Seasons & Oracle of Ages
    • Link’s Awakening
    • A Link Between Worlds
    • Tri Force Heroes
    • The Legend of Zelda
    • Adventure of Link (Zelda II)
  • The Hero is Successful and the Sacred Realm is Protected (Child Timeline)
    • Majora’s Mask
    • Twilight Princess
    • Four Swords Adventure
  • The Hero is Successful and Ganondorf is Sealed (Adult Timeline)
    • Wind Waker
    • Phantom Hourglass
    • Spirit Tracks

All of the above games happen way before the events of Breath of the Wild. So in the Great Calamity timeline, you have to play:

  • Great Calamity
    • Hyrule Warriors: Age of Calamity
    • Breath of the Wild

Which Game to Play First?

In case you are trying to play Zelda games only for Tears of the Kingdom. Then you can directly play the games in the Great Calamity timeline. That is Hyrule Warriors: Age of Calamity and Breath of the Wild. Don’t get me wrong the other games are good too. But these two should have you ready for the upcoming game.

Alternatively, you could start playing the Legend of Zelda series with Skyward Sword by following the timeline. But if you already own a title then the best way to get into the series is playing the one you already have.

Zelda Games in Order by Release Date

  • The Legend of Zelda (1986)
  • Zelda II: The Adventure of Link (1987)
  • A link to the past (1991)
  • Link’s Awakening (1993)
  • Ocarina of Time (1998)
  • Majora’s Mask (2000)
  • Oracle of Seasons & Oracle of Ages (2001)
  • Wind Waker (2002)
  • Four Swords Adventures (2004)
  • Minish Cap (2004)
  • Twilight Princess (2006)
  • Phantom Hourglass (2007)
  • Spirit Tracks (2009)
  • Skyward Sword (2011)
  • A Link Between Worlds (2013)
  • Trinity Force Heroes (2015)
  • Breath of the Wild (2017)
  • Tears of the Kingdom (2023)/BotW 2

Now you should have no problem deciding the order in which you should play The Legend of Zelda Games. For more things Zelda and other games be sure to check out Gamer Tweak.